skip to Main Content

Computing accreditation will be the featured topic of two sessions at SIGCSE 2015:

Thursday, March 5, 6:30-7:20pm
Proposed ABET Computer Science Program Criteria and the CS2013 Curriculum
Authors: Michael Oudshoorn, Wentworth Institute of Technology; Stan Thomas, Wake Forest University; Barbara Boucher Owens,
Southwestern University; Deborah Trytten, University of Oklaholma; Mary-Jane Willshire-Fairley, Capella University

The ACM/IEEE CS2013 Curriculum was released at the end of 2013. The ABET Computer Science Program Criteria are currently being reviewed and changes are being suggested that will bring the CS criteria more in line with the CS2013 recommended curriculum. This session will provide the audience the opportunity to hear what the proposed changes are and to offer feedback and input into the process.

Friday, March 6, 10:45am-noon
Computer Science and ABET Accreditation: What You Should Know
Facilitators: Lillian “Boots” Cassel, Villanova University; David Cordes, University of Alabama; Allen Parrish, University of Alabama; Andrew Phillips, U.S. Naval Academy; Stan Thomas, Wake Forest University

This highly interactive session includes three distinct components related to ABET accreditation of computer science programs. 1) The benefits to computer sciences programs of ABET accreditation, and the related costs; 2) Using a “town hall” format, participants are invited to voice questions, problem statements and concerns about ABET accreditation to a panel of experts; and (3) An update on current discussions regarding future changes to the accreditation criteria.

To register for SIGCSE 2015, please visit

Back To Top