skip to Main Content

Three new Fellow of CSAB Awards were presented at the annual Computing Accreditation Commission (CAC) of ABET meeting last month:

Paul Leidig: For his leadership as CSAB Criteria Committee Chair, his championing of data science program accreditation, and his efforts to bring the American Statistical Association into the CSAB family.

Paul has been a member of the CSAB Board of Directors representing ACM for the past six years, is a Member-at-Large of the ACM Education Board, and Chairs the ACM Data Science Task Force and the Information Systems IS2020 Task Force. Paul has led CSAB’s Criteria Committee since 2018. During his tenure, in addition to the evolution of Data Science accreditation, criteria for two-year Cybersecurity programs have been developed, and IT program criteria were updated. This fall, Paul will be seated as a CSAB Delegate on the ABET Board of Delegates, the Computing Area Delegation, and the Applied and Natural Sciences Area Delegation. He is currently Professor and Director of the School of Computing at Grand Valley State University.

Scott Murray: For his sustained efforts and skilled diplomacy that resulted in data science program criteria within both the Computing and Applied and Natural Sciences Accreditation Commissions of ABET.

Scott was appointed by ACM to the CSAB Board of Directors in 2020. He just concluded service as Chair of the CAC Criteria Committee and next year will be the Vice Chair-Operations for the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET. For the last 18 months,  Scott has chaired an ad hoc committee with membership from CSAB, CAC, and the Applied and Natural Sciences Accreditation Commission (ANSAC), which produced Data Science program criteria for ANSAC.  Before his work in Data Science, Scott led CSAB efforts to update the Information Technology program criteria and has been training new IT PEVs for several years. He is currently Senior Business Intelligence Engineer at ProCore Technologies.

Rajendra Raj: For his leadership in establishing cybersecurity and data science program accreditation in the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET.

Rajendra (“Raj”) is an Alternate Representative Director for the IEEE Computer Society on the CSAB Board of Directors, and is the current Chair of the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET. He has been active in CSAB and ABET for more than 17 years. As co-chair of the Joint CSAB-CAC Criteria Committee, Raj helped to lead the major revisions to the CAC General Criteria and Computer Science program accreditation criteria, as well as develop the “new” Cybersecurity program accreditation criteria for 4-year and 2-year programs, and contribute to the development of the IT2017-based  Information Technology program accreditation criteria. Raj is currently co-chairing a joint ACM, IEEE-CS, and AAAI task force that is  charged with making the decennial update to the guidelines for Computer Science curricula. Raj is currently Professor in the Golisano College of Computing and Information Sciences at Rochester Institute of Technology.

Back To Top