skip to Main Content

One outstanding volunteer was awarded the Fellow of CSAB on July 17 at the annual meeting of the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET. The CSAB Fellow Award is given in recognition of individuals who have given sustained, quality service to the computing profession and to computing education through the activities of CSAB.

  • David Cordes, University of Alabama
    David began his accreditation activities as a program evaluator for CSAB in 1997. In 2006, he became a CAC commission member, and in 2013, Chair of the commission. In addition to his service to CSAB and ABET, David has served a six-year term on the IEEE Computer Society’s Educational Activities Board and also served on an IEEE-CS Task Force on Excellence in Undergraduate Education. David earned his Ph.D. from Louisiana State University. He is in his 28th year on the faculty at the University of Alabama, where he currently serves as the department chair of Computer Science and director of the Freshman Engineering Program.

Two individuals received Outstanding Contribution Awards. The Outstanding Contribution Award is presented to CSAB volunteers with at least three years of sustained service who have made a significant positive impact on CSAB operations, computing accreditation, or computing education.

  • Harry Reif, James Madison University
    For significant, sustained efforts to update and improve the Information Systems program criteria.
  • Heikki Topi, Bentley University
    For significant, sustained efforts to update and improve the Information Systems program criteria.

The 13 members of the CSAB-CAC Joint Criteria Committee received Certificates of Appreciation for their outstanding work toward updating the ABET Criteria for Accrediting Computing Programs:

  • Jean Blair, United States Military Academy
  • Richard Mathieu, James Mason University
  • Scott Murray, HCA Healthcare
  • Michael Oudshoorn, Wentworth Institute of Technology
  • Allen Parrish, University of Alabama
  • Rajendra Raj, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Srinivasan Ramaswamy, ABB, Inc.
  • Harry Reif, James Madison University
  • Edward Sobiesk, United States Military Academy
  • Judith Solano, University of North Florida
  • Mark Stockman, University of Cincinnati
  • Stanley Thomas, Wake Forest University
  • Heikki Topi, Bentley University 
Back To Top