skip to Main Content

At its annual meeting, the CSAB Board of Directors elected the following officers:

  • Pearl Y. Wang (IEEE-CS) – President – George Mason University
    Pearl is Associate Chair of Computer Science at George Mason University in Fairfax, VA. She joined Mason in 1983 as a founding member of the Computer Science Department, after obtaining a Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. At Mason, she is the director of two undergraduate degree programs in computer science and applied computer science. Wang has been an active participant in computing accreditation activities. She currently serves as an ABET CAC commissioner. In addition, Pearl is the co-author of a textbook and has published in numerous professional journals and conferences. Her research interests have included interconnection networks for massively parallel systems, parallel computational algebraic geometry, and the development of sequential and parallel algorithms for discrete combinatorial optimization problems. She has served on the editorial boards of professional journals, including the IEEE Transactions on Parallel and Distributed Systems, the Journal of Parallel and Distributed Computing, and was guest editor of special issues of the European Journal of Operational Research.
  • Harold Grossman (ACM) – Vice President – Clemson University (ret.)
    Harold taught and researched at Clemson University for 35 years before retiring from the Computer Science Division in the School of Computing. He received his doctorate from Michigan University and joined the Computer Science Department as a founding member in 1978.  At Clemson, he held various positions within the department, such as director of the graduate and undergraduate programs, Interim Chair of the Computer Science Department, and Co-director of Test and Evaluation NETwork (TECNET), a 25-year Department of Defense-funded research program. Harold began his accreditation experience as a program evaluator for CSAB in 1988.  In 1992 he became a team chair for CSAC. He has served as an ABET team chair, commissioner, Executive Committee Member-at-large, PEV training support facilitator, and Chair of the Computing Accreditation Commission.  He is currently Chair of the CSAB Quality Assurance Committee and of the ABET Accreditation Council.
  • Allen Parrish (IEEE-CS) – Secretary/Treasurer – University of Alabama
    Allen is Professor of Computer Science, Associate Vice President for Research, and Director of the Center for Advanced Public Safety (CAPS) at the University of Alabama. CAPS is a 125-person R&D organization dedicated to information technology applications to public safety and transportation safety. While under Allen’s direction, CAPS has been nationally recognized as a leader in public safety and traffic safety technology, and has originated a variety of new techniques to make law enforcement and traffic safety engineering more efficient and effective. Throughout his career and through his work with CAPS, Allen has obtained approximately 200 funded projects totaling approximately $100M from a variety of state and federal sponsors. He has published in approximately 100 refereed journals and conferences, and is internationally active in computer science education, having served as the Chair of the Computer Accreditation Commission of ABET, and continues to lead accreditation criteria development as Chair of the CSAB Criteria Committee and in work to professionalize computer security career paths through the development of rigorous educational standards to support those paths. Allen received a Ph.D. in computer and information science from The Ohio State University in 1990.

The full 2015-16 Board of Directors and appointed ABET Delegates can be found here.

Back To Top